Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Find our latest site news here. Want to contribute, have an idea or having a problem? Post your feedback here!
User avatar
nino33
Mr. Goalie
Posts: 5986
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 3:37 am
Custom Rank: Retro Rosters Specialist
Favourite Team: 1970s hockey

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by nino33 » Fri Jul 24, 2015 7:17 pm

I think I've only had it occur once since last Saturday, until just now when it happened about 10 times...

canadiensnation
Learning to skate
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:18 am
Favourite Team: Montreal Canadiens

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by canadiensnation » Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:15 pm

I also experienced this error several times yesterday.

User avatar
nino33
Mr. Goalie
Posts: 5986
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 3:37 am
Custom Rank: Retro Rosters Specialist
Favourite Team: 1970s hockey

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by nino33 » Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:10 am

Some more error messages just now...

User avatar
nino33
Mr. Goalie
Posts: 5986
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 3:37 am
Custom Rank: Retro Rosters Specialist
Favourite Team: 1970s hockey

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by nino33 » Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:57 am

And again a bunch of error messages...

hluraven
Checking Line
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 12:29 pm
Favourite Team: None
Location: Kent

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by hluraven » Sun Jul 26, 2015 8:34 am

I've had loads this morning, been running at maybe one a day for a couple of weeks, but had maybe 20 today.

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:38 pm

Yeah I had loads an hour ago but now it's fine again. It's very frustrating. The hosts just aren't responding to my emails - and I can't get the error logging to work. ](*,)

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:57 am

Well I've sent another email to my hosts to see if they can get to the bottom of it. I think it must be one of two issues: 1) The hosts have changed my server settings or 2) I am over my package limits.

It doesn't seem possible to find out whether I'm over my package limits via my Account Settings and so hopefully, assuming I get a response, the hosts can advise me of this. However, I would be a bit surprised if I were over any limits because the volume of visitors is no higher now than it was before the errors started. According to my Google Webmaster Tools, the errors first started on 29 June. But as can be shown from the graph below, the volume has not changed... :dunno:

Image

Image

User avatar
Named
TBL Rosters Researcher
Posts: 689
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 8:34 pm
Custom Rank: League structures guru
Favourite Team: Chicago Blackhawks
Location: PL

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by Named » Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:05 am

Maybe we should consider change hosts.

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:25 am

Named wrote:Maybe we should consider change hosts.
It's something that is at the back of my mind too. But it is a huge piece of work to undertake. And the timing couldn't be worse as I'll likely be with intermittent internet access from the end of August until October. Plus, I recently renewed the annual hosting contract and so I'd lose quite a lot of money (it costs $160 per year just for the hosting).

I think it would be hard to find an affordable alternative in any event. I remember when we moved to our present host around 18 months ago that there were few, if any, affordable alternatives that had the specifications we need to run the site. I was really impressed with how the site coped with the huge spike in activity at EHM:EA's announcement. The site was generally as quick as normal. Had we still been with our previous hosts, the site would have simply crashed (with our previous host it was slow at the best of times).

I'm hoping it is simply that we have exceeded our server limits. We have a shared server which allows, for example, "up to" 1.2 GB RAM. It might be that resources are being spread more thinly now than before. If that's the case, upgrading to their better package might be the solution as this guarantees a certain level of resources rather than being "up to" a certain amount. It'll be annoying to increase the cost (it'll be $220 per year) but if it resolves the issue once and for all then it'll be worth it.

Lets first see what the host has to say (I've tried an alternative support email address this time around).

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:30 am

Btw, it is interesting to note that the 500 Error affects our Wiki as well as the forum (the Wiki uses slightly different resources to the forum).

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Mon Jul 27, 2015 4:22 pm

My second email has prompted a response from the host company. Unfortunately they haven't really offered anything useful. They want to know how to replicate the issue and seemed to have ignored where I said in my email that it is sporadic and I don't know what is causing it to occur. ](*,) I've sent a response back with some suggestions as to how the issue could be diagnosed. Hopefully this my prompt them to be a little more proactive/helpful...

northernskyhero
Learning to skate
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 12:20 am
Favourite Team: Edmonton/Calgary

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by northernskyhero » Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:57 pm

It's possible the site has hit its database connection limit (i.e. too many people connected at once). Just a shot in the dark...

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:56 am

That's what I wondered at first. However, the volume of traffic is far lower than when we were at our peak back at the end of March - and the site was absolutely fine then. I suspect it might be due to us sharing resources with other sites on the same server.

The host company (1and1.co.uk) is being really unhelpful. In their first email they say we're not over the server limits and then in the second they simply copy and pasted generic advise from their Help Page which lists the server limits. They're ignoring my questions too. It's really frustrating that they won't take any sort of proactive steps to help thus far.

Here's the email exchange thus far:
Thank you for contacting us.

We apologize for the inconvenience. However we will be glad to inform our Solutions Team regarding with your complaint and asking for a refund. We have tried visiting the site ehmtheblueline.com and it seems that it is up and running here in our end. We did not encounter the errror Internal Server error 500. Can you please provide to us what specific page that you have encountered the error on your site so that we can check further? We have double checked it on our back end and the number of processes running on your site did not exceed on the limit. With regard to the Webmaster Statistic report, we are unable to trace it here in our end how long your website have been down or getting an error for it. We need to replicate the error for us to verify some information to our Administrators as well if there is any option on their end what could have caused the error. Thank you for bearing with us.

If you wish to speak to a representative about your concern, please reply to this email and indicate the phone number, the time and date you would prefer for us to contact you, and the name of the person we need to look for if you would prefer to have us speak to one of your representatives instead. You can also give us a call anytime at 0333 336 5691.
Hi

Thank you very much for getting back to me.

The 500 Error occurs on every page on my site. I have two services running on my site; a phpbb forum at http://www.ehmtheblueline.com/forums/index.php and a wiki at http://www.ehmtheblueline.com/wiki/inde ... =Main_Page - each of which run off separate scripts/software and with separate MySQL databases. Whenever the 500 Error occurs, both parts of my site become inaccessible.

As I mentioned in my previously, the error occurs intermittently and I cannot determine how to replicate it. I have not modified my site in any significant way since I first moved to your service roughly 18 months ago (although I have since tried changing to the newest PHP version and adding error logging to my php.ini - neither of which have any effect). As is shown in the graph in my previously email, the intermittent errors have increased with frequency over the past month (previously I encountered zero errors).

Thus I'm unable to really provide any further information on how to replicate the error. The only trend I've noticed is that it generally seems to be at its worst during 7am - 12 noon. Is there any way you can enable global error logging via PHP on my website so that we can at least try to find out more about the error? I've tried following your help guide on how to enable logging via php.ini but it doesn't seem to log the errors to the log file I created at <SNIP>

Any help you can provide in logging/diagnosing the error would be greatly appreciated. Given the sporadic and sudden nature of the issue, I'm led to believe this must relate to a server setting change or an issue with my site running over its limits (although from what you say, it appears not to be the latter). If upgrading to the higher hosting package is the solution then that's fine - just so long as we can get rid of this error.

I'll await to hear further from you.

Many thanks
Thank you for contacting us.

500 Errors are commonly produced when there are errors in the .htaccess file or one of the package limitations has been exceeded.

Max script execution time: 40 seconds
Max simultaneous processes: 15
Max memory per process: 80MB

It is common to experience 500 errors intermittently when the package limitations have been exceeded which may correspond to swells in traffic during the day. To address the issue, we advise you to try disabling your plugins one at a time to check which of them is causing the intermittent error. You may try to disable your htaccess file as well.

If you wish to speak to a representative about your concern, please reply to this email and indicate the phone number, the time and date you would prefer for us to contact you, and the name of the person we need to look for if you would prefer to have us speak to one of your representatives instead. You can also give us a call anytime at 0333 336 5691.

Best Regards,
Hi

Having previously read your "Common Causes of 500 Errors" help article, I'm well aware that these errors can be caused by a faulty .htaccess file or exceeding my package limitations. You fail to mention they can also be caused by changes to server settings by yourselves.

The email of Ruby Marie Claverol is ireally unhelpful. The earlier email of Carmencita Bascon advised "We have double checked it on our back end and the number of processes running on your site did not exceed on the limit." That being the case, why is Ruby Marie Claverol now suggesting that my site being over the package limits is a possibility?

With regards to .htaccess, I have said in both of my emails that I haven't modified my site in any significant way. An issue with an .htaccess file would cause a constant 500 Error. As I have said repeatedly, the issue is intermittent.

Surely a sensible way of diagnosing this error is to enable error logging, as I suggested in my previous email? I asked you to help me set this up but you seem to have ignored this request. Please can you now respond to this? I can have copied and pasted the relevant passage of my email below.

As I said before, if I'm over the package limits then I'm willing to upgrade. However, I need your help in diagnosing this error - particularly as I have done nothing to my site and you have already told me that I'm not over my package limits. Given that I am paying for this service, I think it is pretty reasonable to expect you to offer some genuine technical support rather than copy and paste generic information from your website.

> Is there any way you can enable
> global error logging via PHP on my website so that we can at least try to
> find out more about the error? I've tried following your help guide on how
> to enable logging via php.ini but it doesn't seem to log the errors to the
> log file I created
> at <SNIP>
>
> Any help you can provide in logging/diagnosing the error would be greatly
> appreciated. Given the sporadic and sudden nature of the issue, I'm led to
> believe this must relate to a server setting change or an issue with my
> site running over its limits (although from what you say, it appears not to
> be the latter). If upgrading to the higher hosting package is the solution
> then that's fine - just so long as we can get rid of this error.

I look forward to hearing from you.

User avatar
nino33
Mr. Goalie
Posts: 5986
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 3:37 am
Custom Rank: Retro Rosters Specialist
Favourite Team: 1970s hockey

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by nino33 » Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:37 am

What a pain/how annoying! :rant:

User avatar
A9L3E
All-Star
Posts: 1228
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 6:22 am
Custom Rank: Shiny gilded nameplate
Favourite Team: Helsingin Jokerit
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by A9L3E » Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:51 pm

Maybe you should threaten them with changing the server.

User avatar
Koekenbakker
Drafted
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:41 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by Koekenbakker » Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:22 pm

The only way to debug this is to see the error and access logs and see if there is something that triggers the 500's, but I suppose you don't have access?

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:42 pm

The difficulty is that I cannot get the error logging to work. I've asked the host company for help with this but they're being really unhelpful. They want me to phone them which I'm going to try to do today.

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Wed Jul 29, 2015 2:25 pm

I have just spent 50 minutes on the phone to my host company. They're very unhelpful. ](*,)

It seems the site might be exceeding its package limitations (i.e. maximum number of simultaneous processes or RAM used per process). However, he can't say for sure and they don't keep any logs. I'm trying to upgrade to a better package, but it'll only allow one additional simultaneous process (but double the RAM per process). This might fix it, but it might not be enough.

The likely solution is to upgrade the forum software to the latest version. The latest version is significantly faster and more efficient. The only downside is that we'll lose the Challenge scripts. So I'll need to look into porting the Challenge scripts to the new version of the forum software. In the mean time, I fear we'll just have to put up with the intermittent errors... :\

User avatar
Named
TBL Rosters Researcher
Posts: 689
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 8:34 pm
Custom Rank: League structures guru
Favourite Team: Chicago Blackhawks
Location: PL

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by Named » Wed Jul 29, 2015 2:54 pm

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1990 ... og-outputs

Do You read these 2 answers? There should be logs. Did You try clearing cache?

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:17 pm

Named wrote:http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1990 ... og-outputs

Do You read these 2 answers? There should be logs. Did You try clearing cache?
As I mentioned above, I can't get the error logs to work - and the host company won't help me to enable them. The hosts don't allow their customers to modify the master php settings. Instead it has to be done via local php.ini files but they don't seem to work correctly.

The answers you mention in that link relate to errors caused by .htaccess. However, that results in a constant, rather than intermittent, 500 error. Our .htaccess files aren't the cause. In all likelihood it's the site exceeding the server limits mentioned previously - hence why the issue is intermittent. We're using an old version of the forum software (November 2010 - time has flown!!) and it is about time we upgraded. I had already planned to do this, but my hand is being forced by the errors.

However, I have now received confirmation that my server package has been upgraded and this means slightly larger limits than before (as per my previous message). So it'll be interesting to see if this resolves the issue. If it doesn't then we'll have no choice but to upgrade to the new forum software as soon as possible.

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:26 pm

Well it's clear that upgrading the server package has not resolved the issue... :rant:

User avatar
Named
TBL Rosters Researcher
Posts: 689
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 8:34 pm
Custom Rank: League structures guru
Favourite Team: Chicago Blackhawks
Location: PL

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by Named » Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:39 pm

So it seems to be a problem with server configuration on their side or machine problem or some other site on this server make issues on machine which is seemed on our site :/

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:52 pm

No, it's likely because we're exceeding our package limits. The upgraded package only slightly increase the limits. I think we need to upgrade to the latest version of the forum software. I'm running a test version of the new forum software on my laptop to see if I can at least get the Challenge pages moved across easily. If I can then I'll upgrade the forum software probably in August.

User avatar
archibalduk
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 19349
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 8:44 pm
Custom Rank: Seaside + Fruit Juice Mode
Favourite Team: Guildford (EPL) / Invicta (NIHL)
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by archibalduk » Sat Aug 01, 2015 1:15 pm

Has anybody encountered any 500 Errors since Wednesday evening/Thursday morning?

User avatar
Tasku
TBL Admin Team
Posts: 7958
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Custom Rank: W-WPoTBLfaSaD
Favourite Team: WSH Capitals
Location: Finland

Re: Error 500 (Internal Server Error)

Post by Tasku » Sat Aug 01, 2015 1:30 pm

archibalduk wrote:Has anybody encountered any 500 Errors since Wednesday evening/Thursday morning?
Not sure, but certainly haven't received any recently. :-k

Post Reply

Return to “TBL Announcements and Feedback”